Dear family and friends in North Carolina,

Undoubtedly you know by now that your state’s General Assembly went out of their way to hold a one-day special legislative session on Thursday, 23 March 2016, to pass a single bill in response to Charlotte’s LGBT antidiscrimination ordinance. It was, as you know, promptly signed into law by the state’s Republican governor, Pat McCrory.

Now, there is nothing more I can say that has not already been more eloquently and forcefully said by others about how this law is an egregious affront to human rights, local authority, and basic decency. I can, however, provide the following “wall of shame”: the name of every state representative and senator who voted for the law, along with the district and county(-ies) he/she represents—so you know which bums to throw out this November.

Official legislative information on House Bill 2, now Session Law 2016-3
My Facebook post with this information, which I invite you to share

House of Representatives


  • Jay Adams (96/Catawba)
  • Dean Arp (69/Union)
  • Marilyn Avila (40/Wake)
  • Dan Bishop (104/Mecklenburg)
  • Hugh Blackwell (86/Burke)
  • John M. Blust (62/Guilford)
  • James L. Boles (52/Moore)
  • John R. Bradford, III (98/Mecklenburg)
  • William Brawley (103/Mecklenburg)
  • Mark Brody (55/Anson, Union)
  • Rob Bryan (88/Mecklenburg)
  • Dana Bumgardner (109/Gaston)
  • Justin P. Burr (67/Montgomery, Stanly)
  • Rick Catlin (20/New Hanover)
  • George G. Cleveland (14/Onslow)
  • Jeff Collins (25/Franklin, Nash)
  • Debra Conrad (74/Forsyth)
  • N. Leo Daughtry (26/Johnston)
  • Ted Davis, Jr. (19/New Hanover)
  • Jimmy Dixon (4/Duplin, Wayne)
  • Josh Dobson (85/Avery, McDowell, Mitchell)
  • Nelson Dollar (36/Wake)
  • Jeffrey Elmore (94/Alleghany, Wilkes)
  • John Faircloth (61/Guilford)
  • Carl Ford (76/Cabarrus, Rowan)
  • John A. Fraley (95/Iredell)
  • Mike Hager (112/Burke, Rutherford)
  • Jon Hardister (59/Guilford)
  • Kelly E. Hastings (110/Cleveland, Gaston)
  • D. Craig Horn (68/Union)
  • Julia C. Howard (79/Davie, Forsyth)
  • Pat B. Hurley (70/Randolph)
  • Frank Iler (17/Brunswick)
  • John R. Bell, IV (10/Craven, Greene, Lenoir, Wayne)
  • Bert Jones (65/Caswell, Rockingham)
  • Jonathan C. Jordan (93/Ashe, Watauga)
  • Kyle Hall (91/Rockingham, Stokes)
  • Linda P. Johnson (83/Cabarrus)
  • Donny Lambeth (75/Forsyth)
  • James H. Langdon (28/Johnston)
  • David R. Lewis (53/Harnett)
  • Chris Malone (55/Wake)
  • Pat McElraft (13/Carteret, Jones)
  • Allen McNeill (78/Moore, Randolph)
  • Chris Millis (16/Onslow, Pender)
  • Gregory F. Murphy (9/Pitt)
  • Larry G. Pittman (82/Cabarrus)
  • Michele D. Presnell (118/Haywood, Madison, Yancey)
  • Rayne Brown (81/Davidson)
  • Rena W. Turner (84/Iredell)
  • Dennis Riddell (64/Alamance)
  • George S. Robinson (87/Caldwell)
  • Stephen M. Ross (63/Alamance)
  • Susan Martin (8/Pitt, Wilson)
  • Jason Saine (97/Lincoln)
  • Jacqueline Michelle Schaffer (105/Mecklenburg)
  • Mitchell S. Setzer (89/Catawba)
  • Phil Shepard (15/Onslow)
  • Michael Speciale (3/Beaufort, Craven, Pamlico)
  • Paul Stam (37/Wake)
  • Bob Steinburg (1/Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell)
  • Sarah Stevens (90/Surry, Wilkes)
  • John Szoka (45/Cumberland)
  • Tim Moore, Speaker (111/Cleveland)
  • John A. Torbett (108/Gaston)
  • Harry Warren (77/Rowan)
  • Sam Watford (80/Davidson)
  • Roger West (120/Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Macon)
  • Chris Whitmire (113/Henderson, Polk, Transylvania)
  • Larry Yarborough (2/Granville, Person)
  • Lee Zachary (73/Alexander, Wilkes, Yadkin)


  • Larry M. Bell (21/Duplin, Sampson, Wayne)
  • William D. Brisson (22/Bladen, Johnston, Sampson)
  • Elmer Floyd (43/Cumberland)
  • Ken Goodman (66/Hoke, Montgomery, Richmond, Robeson, Scotland)
  • Charles Graham (47/Robeson)
  • George Graham (12/Craven, Greene, Lenoir)
  • Howard J. Hunter, III (5/Bertie, Gates, Hertford, Pasquotank)
  • Garland E. Pierce (48/Hoke, Richmond, Robeson, Scotland)
  • William O. Richardson (44/Cumberland)
  • Brad Salmon (51/Harnett, Lee)
  • Michael H. Wray (27/Halifax, Northampton)


Every Republican (except two who were absent)

  • John M. Alexander, Jr. (15/Wake)
  • Tom Apodaca (48/Buncombe, Henderson, Transylvania)
  • Chad Barefoot (18/Franklin, Wake)
  • Tamara Barringer (17/Wake)
  • Phil Berger (26/Guilford, Rockingham)
  • Stan Bingham (33/Davidson, Montgomery)
  • Andrew C. Brock (34/Davie, Iredell, Rowan)
  • Harry Brown (6/Jones, Onslow)
  • Bill Cook (1/Beaufort, Camden, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans)
  • David L. Curtis (44/Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln)
  • Warren Daniel (46/Burke, Cleveland)
  • Jim Davis (50/Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain)
  • Rick Gunn (24/Alamance, Randolph)
  • Kathy Harrington (43/Gaston)
  • Fletcher L. Hartsell, Jr. (36/Cabarrus, Union)
  • Ralph Hise (47/Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Yancey)
  • Brent Jackson (10/Duplin, Johnston, Sampson)
  • Joyce Krawiec (31/Forsyth, Yadkin)
  • Michael V. Lee (9/New Hanover)
  • Tom McInnis (25/Anson, Richmond, Rowan, Scotland, Stanly)
  • Wesley Meredith (19/Cumberland)
  • E.S. “Buck” Newton (11/Johnston, Nash, Wilson)
  • Louis Pate (7/Lenoir, Pitt, Wayne)
  • Ronald J. Rabin (12/Harnett, Johnston, Lee)
  • Bill Rabon (8/Bladen, Brunswick, New Hanover, Pender)
  • Shirley B. Randleman (30/Stokes, Surry, Wilkes)
  • Norman W. Sanderson (2/Carteret, Craven, Pamlico)
  • Jeff Tarte (41/Mecklenburg)
  • Jerry W. Tillman (29/Moore, Randolph)
  • Tommy Tucker (35/Union)
  • Trudy Wade (27/Guilford)
  • Andy Wells (42/Alexander, Catawba)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s